The Friends of the Ridgeway

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 3.00 pm on Sunday, 23rd April, 2017

at the Thomas Hughes Memorial Hall, Uffington, Oxon

The Chairman declared the Meeting quorate and called the Meeting to order.

- 1. **Apologies**: The Chairman asked the Secretary to read the list of members who had expressed their apologies for non-attendance. This comprised only two names, namely Kay Fox and Margaret Symonds.
- 2 **Minutes**: The Chairman noted that the Minutes of the 2016 AGM, held on 26th April, 2015, had been approved as a correct record by the Executive Committee at its meeting on 12th July, 2016, and signed by the Chairman, in accordance with the Constitution.
- 3. **Matters Arising**: The Chairman noted that no matters had been notified as arising from the Minutes.
- 4 **Annual Report**: It was noted that a Notice of this Meeting had been published in the printed Annual Reports circulated to members, including the Treasurer's report and Accounts, and a letter from the Chairman, and that copies of the formal Trustees' Annual Report, the Annual Accounts for 2016, the Hon Examiner's Report, and the full AGM Notice and Agenda, have been provided to members present.

The Chairman observed that the Association has had an exciting year, noting that the Committee focussed on the two themes foreshadowed last year, namely the drive to increase membership, and the establishment of the Swire Ridgeway Arts Prize, realised this week-end. The promised mail-shot was sent out last summer, and has resulted in a number of new members joining; and he hoped that the Art Exhibition would also attract new recruitment. We still need to grow the membership more vigorously, and he called on members' assistance in this effort. We will continue to improve communications by developing our web-site, newsletters and a more active presence in social media.

The Committee continues to be active in monitoring planning applications and Plans, and the Chairman mentioned two recent applications at Huntercombe, one involving diversion of the Ridgeway. He also referred to the revised VWH Local Plan proposal for 1,000 houses in the North Wessex Downs AONB at Harwell Campus, affecting the Icknield Way, that we shall of course be vigorously opposing.

The Chairman thanked the Committee for their contributions during the year, mentioning John Edgerton particularly for his sterling work both as Treasurer and Membership Secretary, and Jeff Goddard for his valuable contribution as Secretary. The Vale of White Horse Local Group has again had a very successful year, with an excellent lecture and events Programme. Thanks are also due to Steve Sherman, for his continuing work as Independent Examiner.

Finally, the Chairman welcomed two new volunteers as Trustees, Andy Greenhalgh and Dr Nicola Swan, and called on Andy to introduce himself, Dr Swan being unable to attend. Andy, who is a local Councillor in Bishopstone has spent a lifetime in the technology field. He is a keen Rambler, and will represent that interest.

No questions being raised, adoption of the Annual Report for 2016 was proposed by Jim Gunter, seconded by Ken Pagett, and agreed unanimously.

5 **Treasurers Report and Annual Accounts**: The Chairman noted that our Treasurer, John Edgerton, is unable to be present, but that his Report and the Annual Accounts were published in the printed Annual Report previously circulated, and are available today, with the Trustees' Report and IE's Certificate.

No questions on the Accounts being raised, adoption of the Annual Report and Accounts for 2015 was proposed by Sally Barnes, seconded by Ian Ritchie, and agreed unanimously.

- 6 **Honorary Auditor/Independent Examiner**: The re-appointment of Stephen Sherman FCA, as Hon Auditor/Independent Examiner, who has confirmed his willingness to serve for another year in that capacity, had been proposed by John Edgerton and seconded by Anthony Burdall, and was agreed unanimously.
- 7 Election of President and Vice-Presidents: The Chairman, welcoming the President to the Meeting, thanked him and the Vice-Presidents for their continued support, and proposed that they should be re-elected en bloc, with best wishes for the re-election of all the Vice-Presidents in the forthcoming Election. A resolution for their re-appointment was proposed by Ian Ritchie, seconded by Sir Adrian Swire, and carried unanimously.

8 Election of Officers and Committee Members/Trustees

The Chairman proposed that all the present Officers and Trustees should be re-elected en bloc, and, there being no objections to this, he noted that the following had been duly proposed and seconded as Officers and Trustees as follows:-

| Officers: | Proposed | Seconded |
|------------------------------|-------------------------------|---------------|
| Chairman (Anthony Burdall) | Sally Barnes | John Edgerton |
| Secretary (Jeff Goddard): | Jim Gunter | Sally Barnes |
| Treasurer (John Edgerton): | Anthony Burdall | Jeff Goddard |
| Trustees: | - | |
| Sally Barnes : Jim Gunter | John Edgerton Sally Barnes | Jim Gunter |
| Jiii Guiller | Sally Barnes | John Edgerton |

A resolution for the election of all the above en bloc was carried unanimously.

<u>New Trustees:</u> The Chairman reported that the following persons, having been nominated and seconded as new Trustees of the Association, had confirmed their willingness for election in that capacity:-

| Andy Greenhalgh | Anthony Burdall | Jeff Goddard | |
|---|-----------------|-----------------|--|
| Dr Nicola Swan | Jeff Goddard | Anthony Burdall | |
| resolution for the election of the above was carried unanimously. | | | |

9 **Other Business:** No other business was raised.

There being no further business, the Chairman declared the Meeting closed, and thanked members for their attendance.

Signed: Anthony Burdall, Chairman

Date: 13th June, 2017

А