The Friends of the Ridgeway

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 3.00 pm on Sunday, 22nd April, 2018

at the Thomas Hughes Memorial Hall, Uffington, Oxon

The Chairman declared the Meeting quorate and called the Meeting to order.

- 1. **Apologies**: The Chairman asked the Secretary to read the list of members who had expressed their apologies for non-attendance. No names had been received.
- 2 **Minutes**: The Chairman noted that the Minutes of the 2017 AGM, held on 23rd April, 2017, had been approved as a correct record by the Executive Committee at its meeting on 13th June, 2017, and signed by the Chairman, in accordance with the Constitution.
- 3. **Matters Arising**: The Chairman noted that no matters had been notified as arising from the Minutes.
- 4 **Annual Report**: It was noted that a Notice of this Meeting had been published in the printed Annual Reports circulated to members, including the Treasurer's report and Accounts, and a letter from the Chairman, and that copies of the formal Trustees' Annual Report, the Annual Accounts for 2017, the Hon Examiner's Report, and the full AGM Notice and Agenda, have been provided to members present.

The Chairman noted that the Annual Report contained a full account of the year's activities but would select only a few items.

The Chairman observed that the Association has had a number of new members joining; and he hoped that the Art Exhibition would continue attract new recruitment

The Association continues to be active and has pursued three issues regarding motor vehicles on the Ridgeway. The Chairman urged members to continue to be vigilant and if any motor vehicle are seen on the Ridgeway to take photographs as evidence and send them to the Committee so action can be taken.

The Chairman thanked the Committee for their contributions during the year, mentioning John Edgerton his work both as Treasurer and Membership Secretary, and Jeff Goddard in particular for his valuable contribution as Secretary. Jeff would be retiring at the meeting after 11 years of service to Friends of the Ridgway and the Chairman thanks him warmly for his invaluable contribution over this period.

Finally, the Chairman welcomed one new volunteer as Trustee, Alan Chater, and stated that any new applications would be welcome.

No questions being raised, adoption of the Annual Report for 2017 was agreed unanimously.

5 **Treasurers Report and Annual Accounts**: John Edgerton, stated that his Report and the Annual Accounts were published in the printed Annual Report previously circulated, and were available today, with the Trustees' Report and IE's Certificate. The accounts show a healthy surplus with income in the year boosted by several large donations.

In response to a question from the meeting, the Chairman explained that the additional funds were restricted and would be used specifically for the benefit of the Ridgeway National Trail.

No further question on the Accounts being raised, adoption of the Annual Report and Accounts for 2017 was agreed unanimously.

- 6 **Honorary Auditor/Independent Examiner**: The re-appointment of Stephen Sherman FCA, as Hon Auditor/Independent Examiner, who has confirmed his willingness to serve for another year in that capacity, had been proposed by John Edgerton and seconded by Anthony Burdall, and was agreed unanimously.
- 7 **Election of President and Vice-Presidents**: The Chairman, welcoming the President to the Meeting, thanked him and the Vice-Presidents for their continued support, and proposed that they should be re-elected en bloc. A resolution for their re-appointment was proposed by Ian Ritchie, seconded by Jeff Goddard, and carried unanimously.

8 Election of Officers and Committee Members/Trustees

The Chairman proposed that all the present Officers and Trustees should be re-elected en bloc, with the exception that Jeff Goddard would resign and Alan Chater would become secretary. There being no objections to this, he noted that the following had been duly proposed and seconded as Officers and Trustees as follows:-

Officers:		Proposed	Seconded
	Chairman (Anthony Burdall)	Andy Greenhalgh	Nicola Swan
	Secretary (Alan Chater):	Anthony Burdall	Jeff Goddard
	Treasurer (John Edgerton):	Jim Gunter	Andy Greenhalgh
Trustees:			
	Andy Greenhalgh	Jeff Goddard	John Edgerton
	Jim Gunter	John Edgerton	Jeff Goddard
	Dr Nicola Swan	Jeff Goddard	Anthony Burdall
	Diane Godfrey	Anthony Burdall	Nicola Swan

A resolution for the election of all of the above en bloc was carried unanimously.

9 **Other Business:** No other business was raised.

There being no further business, the Chairman declared the Meeting closed, and thanked members for their attendance.

Signed:

Date: